Winners in this year’s College of American Pathologists (CAP) Top 5 Junior Member Abstract Program were recognized during ceremonies held at the recent CAP23 meeting in Chicago. CAP President Donald S. Karcher, MD, personally congratulated the winners on Sunday, October 8, 2023, during the 2023 Honors in Pathology Awards ceremony.

All abstracts accepted for presentation at the CAP23 meeting that were submitted by CAP junior members were eligible for selection as one of the Top 5 Junior Member Abstract Program winners. Prior to being selected as a winning abstract, these submissions were reviewed by a group of experts within various anatomic and clinical pathology disciplines who were blinded to the authors’ identities.

The winning abstracts (CAP junior members shown in bold) are as follows:

First Place: Standard Organ Weights at Autopsy: An Updated Online Tool From 4,197 Cases. Meagan Chambers, MD, MS, MSc (; Harold Sanchez, MD.2 1Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine, University of Washington, Seattle; 2Department of Pathology, Yale University, New Haven, Connecticut.

Second Place: Molecular Profile of Pulmonary Pleomorphic Carcinoma. Ansa Mehreen, MD (; Marika Forsythe, MD; Thanh Lan, MD. Department of Pathology, University of Chicago-NorthShore, Chicago, Illinois.

Third Place: Removing Race from the Calculation of Estimated Glomerular Filtration Rate: Outcomes. Alexander Ladenheim, MD (; Clayton K. LaValley, MD; Joel Hernandez, MD; Nam K. Tran, PhD. Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine, University of California Davis Health, Sacramento.

Fourth Place: Flow Cytometry as a Valuable Screening and Diagnostic Tool for Fine-Needle Aspirates or Body Fluids: A Single-Institution Experience in Building a Screening Carcinoma Panel. Vasily Ovechko, MD (; Faisal Rawas, MSc; Liesel Dell’Osso, BSc; Juan D. Garcia, MBA; Mahreen Hussain, MD; Ranjana Nawgiri, MD; Kirill A. Lyapichev, MD. Department of Pathology, UTMB, Galveston, Texas.

Fifth Place: Frozen-Permanent Section Diagnostic Discrepancy Rate in Axillary Sentinel Lymph Nodes: A Quality Improvement Study. Katherine Drews-Elger, MD, PhD (; Nicolas C. Millan, MD; Dayra Gutierrez-Alonso, BS; Daniel P. Cassidy, MD; Carmen R. Gomez-Fernandez, MD. Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine, University of Miami Miller School of Medicine, Miami, Florida.

The Archives of Pathology & Laboratory Medicine Editorial Board acknowledges the efforts of the following individuals for their assistance in selecting the winning Top 5 Junior Member abstracts:

  • David A. Schwartz, MD, Chair

  • Kim A. Collins, MD

  • Genevieve M. Crane, MD, PhD

  • Andre L. Moreira, MD, PhD

  • Maria M. Picken, MD, PhD

  • Anja C. Roden, MD

  • Harold Sanchez, MD

  • Annika L. Windon, MD

  • Roseann I. Wu, MD, MPH

  • Rhonda K. Yantiss, MD

The accepted CAP23 abstracts and case studies are available on the Archives website (; click on the CAP Annual Meeting Abstracts link).