Board of Directors Meeting May 29–30, 2001, Denver, Colorado


Call to Order

The meeting was called to order at 1:10 p.m. (MDT) on Tuesday, May 29, 2001, by President Cathy Ficker Terrill. The Board adjourned at 4:45 PM and reconvened at 7:35 a.m. on Wednesday, May 30, 2001.


Members present introduced themselves by identifying what commitment each would make in the next year to the completion of the Strategic Plan. Members present–Cathy Ficker Terrill, president; Steven F. Warren, president-elect; Ruth A. Luckasson, vice-president; Marcia B. Bryan, secretary-treasurer; Bernard R. Wagner, past-president; Henry A. Bersani, Jr.; Gail Davis; Regina L. Farrer; Sharon C. Gomez; Virgil L. Hobbs; Kathryn Jennings; David M. Mank; Joanna L. Pierson; Genevieve D. Pugh; Cordelia C. Robinson; David A. Rotholz; Eleanor B. Wright. Member absent–Marsha M. Seltzer. Guests (at all or part of the meeting)—Brian Clukey, Sharon Coutryer, Richard Garrett, Stanley Handmaker, Stanley Herr, Richard Jacobs, Martha Snell, Ann Turnbull, Mark Yeager. National staff present–M. Doreen Croser, Maria A. Alfaro.

M/S/P (S. Gomez, V. Hobbs): To unanimously accept the minutes of the May 14, 2001, Board meeting.

Officer's Reports

President: C. Ficker Terrill encouraged use of RADAR as an up to the minute information resource for everyone in our field. Likewise, Career Connections affords low-cost access for employers and professionals in the field.

President–Elect: S. Warren indicated that a primary focus of the next Board will be evaluating the Annual Meeting and its function in supporting the Association.

Vice-President: R. Luckasson indicated a good response from members on their progress in carrying out the actions to implement the Strategic Plan.

Secretary–Treasurer: M. Bryan presented the 2000 Audit and Management letter. Because the Finance Committee will not meet until after the 2000–2001 Board adjourns, comments from them on this letter will be received by the 2001–2002 Board on Friday, June 1, 2001.

M/S/P (J. Pierson, B. Wagner): To accept the 2000 Audit and Management letter.

M/S/P (Finance Committee): To receive the (unaudited) April, 2001 Financial Statement.

Executive Director: D. Croser presented an overview of the “State of the Association” at a joint meeting that preceded the meeting of the Board.

Report of the Assembly of Regions

V. Hobbs reported that the Assembly had elected the following members: Mark Yeager, Speaker pro tem and representative to the Board; Patricia Williams, representative to the Board; Alya Reeve, representative to the Board; Nancy Kirchner, representative to the N & E Committee; Fran Ulrich, secretary for the Assembly

Report of the Conference of Divisions

G. Pugh reported that the Conference had elected the following members: David Rotholz, president pro tem and representative to the Board; Sharon Gomez, representative to the Board; Stanley Handmaker, representative to the Board; Rose Sevcik, representative to the N & E Committee.

Committee Reports

D. Mank reported that representatives of the Committee are working with the Terminology and Classification ad hoc committee to focus on the relationship between the ICIDH II and AAMR's newly revised classification system.

Publications: H. Bersani reported that the Publications Committee is completing a review of AAMR publications in the past year; a report will be submitted to the new Board.

Ad Hoc Committee Reports

Self-Advocates: J. Pierson reported that the publication for self-advocates on public speaking will be ready for distribution soon.

SIGN: B. Wagner described the next steps for the SIGN Implementation Committee, including the role of Special Interest Groups.

Terminology and Classification: R. Luckasson reported that the Terminology and Classification ad hoc committee does expect to have the manuscript ready in the fall. The Board agreed that a final in-person committee meeting would facilitate the completion of the work.

Old Business

C. Ficker Terrill reminded members that the deadline for nominations for Officers and Board members is June 30, 2001.

The members of the Board shared their personal opinions on the need to change the name of the organization and what the change(s) might be.

M/S/P (B. Wagner, J. Pierson): That the name of the organization shall change.

M/S/P (S. Warren, V. Hobbs): That the 2000–2001 Board of Directors recommends that the 2001–2002 Board, adopt the name “American Association on Cognitive Developmental Disabilities.”

New Business

B. Wagner opened discussion of a specific role for past presidents. The Board agreed that the topic would be raised at the Past President Luncheon and more input sought.


The meeting adjourned at 8:50 a.m. on Wednesday, May 30, 2001.

Respectfully submitted,

Marcia B. Bryan, EdD, FAAMR