The Pediatric Pharmacy Advocacy Group presented the Lexi-Comp Best Practice Awards at the 22nd Annual PPAG Meeting and 2013 Pediatric Pharmacy Conference on May 4, 2013 in Indianapolis, Indiana. To be considered for the award, practitioners must submit a description of their program. Awards are evaluated based upon innovation, creativity, cost effectiveness, improvement in practice and leadership. All pediatric pharmacy practitioners are eligible and encouraged to apply.

Shannon Manzi, PharmD, from Children’s Hospital Boston was recognized for her implementation of a pharmacist-led pharmacogenomics service. Shannon is currently the Director of the Clinical Pharmacogenomics Service at Children’s Hospital Boston. She is also the team leader for Emergency and Combined Services in the Department of Pharmacy. She graduated from the University of Rhode Island’s PharmD program in 1996. She has practiced pediatric pharmacy for over 15 years, and pediatric emergency pharmacy for 10 years. You can read more about this Best Practice here:

Jackie Magers, PharmD, BCPS, Kristen Gawronski, PharmD, and Lindsay Schray, PharmD received recognition for their work targeting higher Vancomycin Trough Concentrations in neonates. Jacqueline K. (Schneider) Magers graduated from Jamestown College, Jamestown, ND in 2001 with a BA in Biochemistry and Summa Cum Laude honors. She earned her Doctorate of Pharmacy from The Ohio State University in 2001 with Summa Cum Laude honors. She went on to complete a general practice pharmacy residency at The Nebraska Medical Center and a specialty residency in Neonatology and Women’s Health at The Ohio State University. Currently Jackie works at Nationwide Children’s Hospital in Columbus, Ohio as a NICU Clinical Pharmacy Specialist. Topics of interest include infectious disease, nutrition and pulmonary hypertension. To learn more, please click here:

“The Presidential Chairman's Citation' is chosen annually by the sitting president of the Pediatric Pharmacy Advocacy Group (PPAG) and is awarded to an individual that has made a significant and direct impact on the organization. This year’s president, Amy Potts, PharmD, selected Peter Johnson, PharmD an associate professor at the University of Oklahoma. Dr. Johnson received this accolade in recognition of his outstanding service as PPAG’s representative on the Taskforce that recognize Pediatric Pharmacy as a Pharmacy Specialty. The Taskforce was a joint effort of the American College of Clinical Pharmacy, American Society of Health-System Pharmacists and PPAG. Dr. Johnson received his doctor of pharmacy from the University of Mississippi School of Pharmacy in 2004 and completed a PGY1 and PGY2 residencies at the University of Kentucky Chandler Medical Center in Lexington, KY. He is currently an assistant professor in the College of Pharmacy and adjunct assistant professor in the Department of Pediatrics-Section of Critical Care at the University of Oklahoma. Dr. Johnsons is currently a Clinical Pharmacy Specialist-Pediatric Critical Care at the Children’s Hospital at Oklahoma University Medical Center. The Citation was presented on May 3, 2013 at the 22nd Annual PPAG Meeting in Indianapolis, Indiana.

The American College of Clinical Pharmacy (ACCP), the American Pharmacists Association (APhA), the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP), and the Pediatric Pharmacy Advocacy Group (PPAG) jointly submitted a petition to the Board of Pharmacy Specialties (BPS) requesting recognition of Pediatric Pharmacy Practice as a Specialty. In response to that petition the BPS Board of Directors has voted to recognize pediatric pharmacy as a BPS Specialty. Peter Johnson, PharmD from the University of Oklahoma represented PPAG on the joint task force. Others on the task force included Lea Eiland, PharmD (ASHP), Marcia Buck, PharmD (ACCP), and Chasity Shelton, PharmD (APhA).

BPS issued a call for nominations to serve on the Pediatric Pharmacy Specialty Councils and will appoint a 9-member council, which will convene in the Fall of 2013. Examination item writing for the new specialty exam will begin between the fourth quarter of 2013 and the first quarter of 2014 with the first exam being administered in 2015.

For more information from BPS, please direct your browser to:

“The Spirit of PPAG Award” recognizes outstanding member contributions to the Association. The recipients of this Award embody and exemplify the values of PPAG and inspire action in others. The Award recognizes those “behind the scene” contributors that usually go unnoticed, but are not less important. Recipients are chosen by peers working on committees or on particular projects. Recipients are officially recognized at the “Town Hall Business Meeting” during the PPAG Annual Meeting each year. This year recipients are Drs. Crumby, Nichols and Whitmore.

Ashley Crumby, PharmD, Assistant Clinical Professor at Purdue University, for her contributions to the Education Committee coordinating hospital tours of Riley Children’s Hospital. Kristen Nichols, PharmD, Assistant Professor at Butler University, for her contributions to the Education Committee coordinating hospital tours of Riley Children’s Hospital. Maria Whit-more, PharmD, Pediatric Critical Care Clinical Pharmacist at Peyton Manning Children’s Hospital, for her contributions to the Education Committee coordinating hospital tours of Peyton Manning Children’s Hospital at St. Vincent.