Skip to Main Content
Skip Nav Destination
Issue Cover
Current Issue
Volume 57,
Issue 3
July 2021

Debra Bourne

ISSN: 0090-3558
eISSN: 1943-3700

Impact Factor

About the Journal

The JWD is a primary tool used by the WDA in accomplishing its mission, to “acquire, disseminate, and apply knowledge of the health and diseases of wild animals in relation to their biology, conservation, and interactions with humans and domestic animals."

Photo credit: Pat Page. Bubo virginianus (great horned owl)

This journal is available as part of the BioOne Collection.

JWD is available for free in 123 countries

Open Access

WDA now allows authors to have their papers available via open access. See information here.

Features & Information

Congratulations to Dr. Kaylee Byers of the University of British Columbia as a winner of the 2021 BioOne Ambassador Awards

Five early career scholars advanced through a rigorous competition with their peers to provide the most compelling communication of their research beyond their immediate discipline and to the public at large. Effective communication is fundamental to growing science literacy and ensuring access to scientific information to make informed, evidence-based decisions. The Wildlife Disease Association is pleased to recognize Dr. Kaylee Byers as one of the winners of this competitive and prestigious award.

Established in 2018, the award is given to early career scholars nominated by active BioOne publishing partners. To qualify, the author needed to be either a graduate student or a scientist who had completed a PhD or other graduate diploma within the last five years. BioOne then invited qualified nominees to submit a 750-word, plain-language summary explaining how the result of their work impacts the world, applies across disciplines, and to the public.

Kaylee’s summary entitled, Location, location, location: Rats, real estate, and public health and a video describing her work at the Canadian Wildlife Health Cooperative with the ongoing Vancouver Rat Project can be found here.

Congratulations to Dr Molly Martony of the University of Florida as the winner of the joint Wildlife Disease Association & International Association for Aquatic Animal Medicine award for the student authored aquatic animal paper of 2020

The Wildlife Disease Association and the International Association for Aquatic Animal Medicine jointly provide an award for the best student-authored aquatic animal paper in the previous year’s Journal of Wildlife Diseases.

Molly’s paper, Esophageal measurement of core body temperature in the Florida manatee (Trichechus manatus latirostris), was published in the January 2020 edition, Volume 56(1): 27-33.

For more information on this award go HERE.

Featured Articles

From 53(2)

DISEASE COMPLEXITY IN A DECLINING ALASKAN MUSKOX ( OVIBOS MOSCHATUS ) POPULATION Josephine A. Afema, Kimberlee B. Beckmen, Stephen M. Arthur, Kathy Burek Huntington and Jonna A. K. Mazet

James W. Macgregor, Carly S. Holyoake, Joanne H. Connolly, Ian D. Robertson, Patricia A. Fleming and Kristin S. Warren

Brucellosis Transmission between Wildlife and Livestock in the Greater Yellowstone Ecosystem: Inferences from DNA Genotyping
Michael P. O'Brien, Albano Beja-Pereira, Neil Anderson, Ruben M. Ceballos, William H. Edwards, Beth Harris, Rick L. Wallen, Vânia Costa and Gordon Luikart

Kimberly L. Rainwater, Krysten Marchese, Sally Slavinski, Lee A. Humberg, Edward J. Dubovi, Jodie A. Jarvis, Denise McAloose and Paul P. Calle

Thank you to all who made the
Endowment of the Journal of Wildlife Diseases and its worldwide distribution possible.

The $3 million goal of the Dave Jessup, JWD Endowment Fund has been met. This milestone was reached with assistance from a strong US stock market and the right investments, but none of that would have mattered without the generous donations from our members and some non-members who embraced our mission “to acquire, disseminate and apply knowledge of the health and diseases of wild animals…” and made this goal a reality.

The WDA thanks those individuals, businesses, and organizations for their cumulative gifts totaling:

$10,000 and above
International Wildlife Veterinary Services

$1,000 – $9,999
American Association of Wildlife Veterinarians, E.M. Addison, I. Barker, R. Botzler, R. Clark, T.J. DeLiberto, B. Elkin, A. Fairbrother, D. Jessup, W.B. Karesh, L. Locke, J. Mills, C. Pinney, S. Raverty, E.K. Saito, H. Schwantje, C. Wyckoff

$500 – $999
L. Creekmore, T. deMaar, C.S. Deperno, H. Ernest, T.G. Ksiazek, F.A. Leighton, L. Lowenstine, K. Mehren, S. Ostrowski, J. Powers, M.J. Pybus, Ranjbar Orthodontics, B. Raphael, K. Rose, C. Rupprecht, D. Schultz, P. Wolff, T. Work, T. Yuill, B. Zimmerman

$100 – $499
E. Agren, A. Aguirre, M. Anderson, N.E. Anderson, C.T. Atkinson, L. Baeten, P. Barrows, S. Bender, R.A. Bloch, T. Bollinger, D. Bourne, D. Buckle, M.K. Campbell, S. Carver, K. Castle, M. Cattet, D.G. Constantine, T. Cornish, T. Creekmore, J. Ducrocq, B. Ellis, P. Gaffney, D. Gavier-Widen, J.K. Gaydos, J. Gillespie, C. Gillin, D. Goeldner, B. Gonzales, T. Grillo, C. Harms, C. Harris, S.M. Hernandez, C. Hilton, T.M. Hull, K. Burek Huntington, H. Hydeskov, S.W. Jack, C. Jardine, A. Justice-Allen, K. Keel, R. Kock, T. Kuiken, J. Langenberg, D. Ley, K. Mansfield, I. Marco, J. Mazet, D. McAloose, D. Miller, E. Miller, M. Miller, M. Miller, P. Nol, D. Okeson, A. Peters, T. Portas, M. Poss, K. Prager, A. Reiss, C. Rennie III, T.E. Rocke, J.J. Root, S. Schafer, A. Shima, V. Simpson, M. Souza, D. Spratt, M. Stoskopf, E. Thompson, F. Tseng, M. Uhart, L. Uhazy, C. Van Riper III, Veterinary Information Network Inc., R. Wack, P. Whiteley, M. Wild, Wildlife Health International, B. Wolfe, S. Wright, M. Ziccardi

Up to $99
A. Atkins, M. Alley, K. Bagamian, A. Ballman, T. Barnes, V. Beasley, P. Belinsky, T. Bellamy, L. Berger, T. Besser, S. Bjorck, A.M. Bjornstad, P. Boujon, C. Boyce, P. Bright, B. Bron, J. Bryan, J. Burco, T. Burgess, R.B. Burns III, K. Cameron, J. Catao-Dias, M. Conner, A. Chamings, E. Cook, M. Coombe, J. Connolly, R. Cummings, P. Curry, F.J. Dein, M. Dew, R.O. Dittmar II, D.S. Dombrowski, E. Dubovi, P. Eden, L. Englund, A. Evans, D. Fauquier, P. Ferro, M.J. Forzan, J. Foster, K. Gailbreath, R. Gerhold, K. Gold, C. Gortazar, D.E. Green, H. Haefele, B. Hartup, S. Hemsley, C.G. Himsworth, J. Hufschmid, E. Hughes, M. Jensen, M. Kadohira, W. Kistler, L. Klein, M. Kock, N. Lamberski, B. Lawson, D. Leandro, A. Legione, L. Lewis, A.B. Lichtenwainer, R. Maclean, N. Marreros, R. McManamon, D. McRuer, J. Mencher, E. Merrill, C.U. Meteyer, S. Michael, C. Miller, K. Miller, J. Mortenson, M. Navarrete-Talloni, A. Neimanis, K. Niedringhaus, J. Niemuth, D. Nichols, P. Nol, P. Oesterle, J. Okoniewski, A. Peel, M. Petretto, S. Pfitzer, A. Phillips, B. Pollock, T. Ramey, D. Reavill, E. Restis, J. Rijks, A. Robbins, S. Robinson, M-P. Ryser, C. Sangster, D. Schock, V.I. Shearn-Bochsler, L. Shender, C. Shilton, A. Shostak, S. Shriner, R.R. Sim, S. Sirica, K. Sladky, C. Soos, M. Sriram, N. Stacy, D. Stanek, C. Staubach, M. Straub, T. Stephens, T. Stephenson, T. Taylor, T. Heimer, D. Tompkins, B. Trindle, P. Tuomi, K. Uetsuka, P. van Tulden, L. Van Wormer, M. Verant, R. Verin, A. C. Vos, J. Ward, M. Wehtje, A. Wetterau, E. Wheeler, D. Whiteside, C. Whittier, G. Wibbelt, B. Wood, N. Yang, K. Yoneda

Note: If you have donated to the Endowment and do not see your name above or we have noted your total giving incorrectly, please notify us and we will correct our records.

Close Modal

or Create an Account

Close Modal
Close Modal